University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

2018 History Awards Reception

On October 22 the Department of History held its annual awards reception in the Senate Room of the Hotel Alma. We were once again privileged to have in attendance Her Honour, the Honourable Lois Mitchell, Lieutenant-Governor of Alberta, as well as Dr. Richard Sigurdson, Dean of the Faculty of Arts. This reception is a highlight of the department’s year, as we celebrate the accomplishments of our students and thank the donors whose generosity makes the awards possible.

Undergraduate Award Recipients (In order of presentation)

  • Beth Aiken (Dr. Stephen Randall Prize in History)
  • Jessica Gobran (Chancellor Norford Scholarship)
  • Sabrina Pennetta (Akins Johnson Scholarship in History)
  • Daniel Bentley and Carter Brust (Anna Donald Drysdale Memorial Scholarship)
  • Justine Tarkowski (Arthur Beaulieu Memorial Scholarship)
  • Laura Carolina Silva Aya (Canadian Council for the Americas Essay Prize on Latin America in Social Sciences)
  • Ira Adam (Charles Steele Essay Prize)
  • Jonah Secreti (Guenter Martens Scholarship in Military History)
  • Quentin Krawchuk (H.L. Johnson and Associates Ltd. Award)
  • Marion Arnott (Howard Palmer Memorial Scholarship)
  • Alexandra Champagne (James H. Gray Prize in History)
  • Sophia Traxler (Maggie Osler Memorial Scholarship in History)
  • Alexandra Martin (Robert Alexander McMillan Shields Memorial Scholarship in Canadian History)
  • Aiden Fehr (United Empire Loyalists' Association of Canada History Prize)

Graduate Award Recipients (In order of presentation)

  • Yolanda Osondu (Chancellor Norford Graduate Scholarship)
  • Amy Rocha Larson (Arthur J.E. Child Memorial Bursary in History)
  • Samuel Kerr (Coutts Family Western Canadian Graduate Scholarship)
  • Cameron Bartlett and Samuel Kerr (Eleanor Luxton Historical Foundation Graduate Scholarship)
  • Xumeng Sun (Dr. George Self Graduate Scholarship)
  • Joe Fonseca and Paige Mansell (SSHRC Winners)